Liesegang Prize

Raphael Eduard Liesegang (November 1, 1869 – November 13, 1947) studied chemistry in Freiburg, but he did not complete his academic training properly. Although he was not successful at university, he published numerous scientific articles as a student, e.g. on light-sensitive organic silver salts. During this time he also wrote a book on fundamental problems of electric television. Liesegang began his career in his father’s company, which manufactured various articles for photographic processes. Liesegang invented new light-sensitive paper and photographic developing baths. In 1896 he discovered periodic precipitations in gels and he observed ordered structures later called “Liesegang rings” (dissipative structures). After the death of his father, he sold part of his factory, which later became a mainstay of the Agfa company. In the following years, Liesegang worked in various academic positions, e.g. in a museum, a hospital, a paper factory, and in institutes of biophysics and colloid chemistry. Liesegang’s scientific work is wide and includes more than 500 scientific articles, 13,000 short communications and he has edited more than 50 books. In addition to these scientific works, he also wrote 14 dramas!

The Kolloid-Gesellschaft can award the Liesegang Prize to middle-aged scientists, from about 40 to 55 years of age, for outstanding achievements in the field of pure or applied colloid science. The award consists of a certificate and a commemorative coin.

Award winners since 1998

  • 1998 Helmuth Möhwald, Berlin
  • 1999 Heinz Rehage, Essen
  • 2000 Imre Dékány, Szeged (HUN)
  • 2001 Michal Borkovec, Genf (CHE)
  • 2003 Walter Richtering, Aachen
  • 2007 Monika Schönhoff, Münster
  • 2009 Michael Gradzielski, Berlin
  • 2011 Holger Schönherr, Siegen
  • 2013 Werner Goedel, Chemnitz
  • 2017 Regine von Klitzing, Darmstadt
  • 2019 Tobias Kraus, Saarbrücken
  • 2021 Rumiana Dimova, Potsdam
  • 2022 Helmut Coelfen, Konstanz